CONTACTS:

Northern Region Safety Officer:
(907) 451-2280 Office
(907) 322-0603 Cell

Central Region Safety Officer:
(907) 269-5403 Office
(907) 744-3717 Cell

Southcoast Region Safety Officer:

(907) 465-8991 Office
(907) 723-1625 Cell

Division of Risk Management
(907) 465-2180

OSHA
24 HOUR HOTLINE
800-321-6742

NORTHERN REGION

AL

ACCIDENT

PROCEDURES

Our mission is to

"Keep Alaska Moving through service and
infrastructure."



Vehicle Accident/Incident

In the event of an accident or incident
involving a motor vehicle that is state
owned, privately owned or rented
resulting in bodily injury or death of
a person, or where property
damage is more than $2.000, the
driver (employee) shall immedi-
ately notify, by the quickest
means, the Alaska State Troopers
or local law enforcement. (AS
28.35.080). If not investigated by a
law enforcement agency, Form
12-209 MUST be completed and sent
to the address on the form.

Afterwards and as soon as possible,
the driver (employee) shall notify their
Supervisor and Regional Safety
Officer (as well as State Equipment
Fleet if State-owned vehicle).

The following forms must be
completed and forwarded as soon as
possible:

1. Supervisor's Accident Investigation Report
2. Employee's Accident/Mishap Report
3. Liability Accident Notice, Form # 02-919
4. Form # 12-209 IF NOT INVESTIGATED
by Law Enforcement
. Photos of the vehicle/s involved and the
incident scene
6. Employer Report of Injury or lliness-Form
#7-6101; (MANDATORY even if the
employee is not injured), Due (10) days
7. Employee Report of Injury-Form# 7-6100;
(MANDATORY If the employee was
injured; OPTIONAL if the employee was
not injured) Due (30) days

()]

Employee Accident/Injury

All employee incidents and
accidents, with or without injury, shall
be immediately reported to a
supervisor.

In the event of an incident/accident that
is fatal to one or more employees, or
requires inpatient hospitalization of
one or more employees, the
supervisor shall immediately notify the
Regional Safety Officer. *NOTE-If the
Regional Safety Officer cannot be
reached, call the Alaska Department of
Labor (AKOSH). Reporting to AKOSH
must be made immediately but no
later than 8-hours after the incident.
(AS 18.60.058).

For all injury incidents, the following
forms must be completed and
forwarded as soon as possible:

1. Employer Report of Occupational Injury or
lliness, Form #07-6101 Due (10) days

2. Employee Report of Occupational Injury or
lliness, Form #07-6100 Due (30) days

3. Supervisor's Accident Investigation Re-
port

4. Employee's Accident/Mishap Report

Photos of the tools/equipment/machinery
involved and the incident scene

Damage to Property

In the event of an accident or
incident that results in damage to
property, the supervisor shall, upon
discovery, notify the Regional Safety
Officer. If the Regional Safety Officer
cannot be reached call the State of
Alaska’s Risk Management Division.

When the estimated damage
exceeds $15,000.00, Risk
Management shall be immediately
notified by telephone or the quickest
means.

The following forms must be
completed and forwarded as soon
as possible:

1. Supervisor's Accident Investigation Re-
port

2. Employee's Accident/Mishap Report

3. Employer Report of Occupational Injury
or lliness (IF the employee was injured),
Form # 07-6101 Due (10) days

4. Employee Report of Occupational Injury
or lliness (IF the employee was injured),
Form # 07-6100 Due (30) days

5. Photos of the tools/equipment/
machinery involved and the incident
scene

6. Liability Accident Notice, Form # 02-919
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